5 years ago by Tom Soladay

Young goes back-to-back in Tour de Delta

Boulder native wins North Delta and Ladner criteriums

Rally Cycling’s Eric Young charged into BC Superweek this weekend by winning the opening two stages of the Tour de Delta. He defended his North Delta victory from a year ago thanks to teammate Brad Huff who guided him to victory and finished third himself. On Saturday night, the all-star cycling duo shot past Canada’s best once again and finished one-two in downtown Ladner.

“I really can’t stress enough how great it is to see the community here in Ladner, and BC in general really embrace this week of racing and all the racers as people,” said Young. “The vast majority of racers are set up with a local family for host housing, and I think that really tightens the emotional connection a town feels to a bike race. Set in a beautiful area, with wonderful and kind people hosting us and cheering on the racing, it’s just a really enjoyable week of racing.”

Kirsti Lay sprinted to second place in Ladner and Summer Moak won the Best Young Rider competition for the second straight day.

Tour de Delta – Ladner Criterium Men’s Results
1 129 100 077 010 73 YOUNG Eric Rally Cycling Boulder CO 1:13:49.60
2 127 100 032 937 38 HUFF Bradley Rally Cycling Cortez CO 
3 186 100 054 292 53 KNAUER Florenz Herrmann Radteam Lisberg
4 106 100 106 778 62 ROSS Kent * Hedrick Racing Portland, OR
5 12 100 077 811 01 JEAN Emile Silber Pro Cycling Trois-Rivieres QC
6 142 100 107 679 90 BICKMORE Cade * Groove Subaru Excel Sports Longmont CO
7 62 100 087 387 71 NILES Isaac Hewdog Racing Turner Valley AB
8 139 100 155 651 47 YOSHIOKA Mamoru * Kyoto Sangyo Univ Kyoto JPN
9 44 100 089 145 83 VARABEI Anton Toronto Hustle Toronto ON
10 188 100 087 254 35 HATZ Christopher Herrmann Radteam Dienheim

Tour de Delta – Ladner Criterium Women’s Results
1 RYAN Kendall Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank Camarillo CA 01:09:23.1
2 LAY Kirsti Rally Cycling Calgary AB 
3 OWEN Harriet Hagens Berman | Supermint Oxford GBR
4 MULLENS Peta Hagens Berman | Supermint Bendigo
5 HOWARD Lisa Fluevog’s Crit Nasty Vancouver BC
6 JACKSON Alison Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank Vermilion Canada
7 MOAK Summer* Rally Cycling Scottsdale AZ 
8 NELSON Emily* Independent Lichfield
9 VAN GILDER Laura Mellow Mushroom Pocono Pines PA
10 WILLIAMS Lily Hagens Berman | Supermint Tallahassee FL

Tour de Delta – North Delta Criterium Men’s Results
1 YOUNG Eric Rally Cycling Boulder CO 1:11:01.70
2 KNAUER Florenz Herrmann Radteam Lisberg
3 HUFF Bradley Rally Cycling Cortez CO
4 MUDGWAY Luke H&R Block Pro Cycling Team Waipukurau NZL
5 KETLER Mitchell Applewood Garneau p/b Smart Savvy Winnipeg MB
6 COTE Pier-Andre Silber Pro Cycling Saint-Henri de Levis QC
7 SHORT Philip Nine Lives Carbon Repair Greensboro
8 MURISON Alexander Trek Red-Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes Vancouver BC
9 ROSS Kent Hedrick Racing Portland, OR
10 RUPNIK Jure H&R Block Pro Cycling Team Weyburn SK