5 years ago by Tom Soladay

Young chases history, Bergen debuts maple leaf

Race Preview: BC Superweek

Rally Cycling arrived in beautiful Vancouver, British Columbia today for BC Superweek, Canada’s longest and most lucrative multi-day event. Running from July 6 – 15, the race draws an international field for nine days of exciting racing and a total prize purse of $140,000.

On Wednesday night, Eric Young will look to equal Ron Hayman’s (7-Eleven) 1983 record of three victories at the 35th edition of the Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix.

Historically, the Gastown district of Vancouver draws crowds exceeding 10,000 spectators for one of the most intense and exhilarating nights of racing anywhere.

Vancouver native and newly-crowned Canadian criterium champion Sara Bergen seeks to continue her epic season and climb atop the Gastown podium in front of her hometown fans while wearing the coveted maple leaf jersey.

Starting for the men’s team is Ryan Anderson, Matteo Dal-Cin, Adam de Vos, Nigel Ellsay, Brad Huff, and Eric Young. For the women’s team, Sara Bergen, Gillian Ellsay, Heidi Franz, Kirsti Lay, Abigail Mickey, and Summer Moak will take to the start.

Racing kicks off with the three-day Tour de Delta, features two criteriums and finishes with Sunday’s UCI 1.2 White Spot road race. Both teams have won the internationally ranked one-day race on multiple occasions and arrive as favorites.

The women will cover eight laps of the 13 km urban circuit located just a few kilometers from the Canadian-American border for a total of 103 km. The men race for 12 laps and 155 km.

After a well-earned day off, the riders face three consecutive criteriums in the New West Grand Prix, Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix, and the Giro di Burnaby.

The team will wrap up BC Superweek at the Tour de White Rock while a select group will tackle the UCI 1.2 Chrono Kristin Armstrong time trial in Boise, Idaho on July 13th.

Newly crowned Under 23 national time trial champion Emma White, Olympic silver medalist Kelly Catlin, and former junior world time trial champion Brandon McNulty will race the 23 km course against the country’s top time trial specialists.

BC Superweek Men’s Roster
Ryan Anderson
Matteo Dal-Cin
Adam de Vos
Nigel Ellsay
Brad Huff
Eric Young

Director: Eric Wohlberg

BC Superweek Women’s Roster
Sara Bergen
Gillian Ellsay
Heidi Franz
Kirsti Lay
Abigail Mickey
Summer Moak

Director: Zach Bell

Chrono Kristin Armstrong Roster
Kelly Catlin
Brandon McNulty
Emma White