5 years ago by Tom Soladay

Young sprints to seventh in Denmark

Carpenter carries third overall into decisive time trial

Rally Cycling’s Eric Young sprinted to seventh in stage three of the Tour of Denmark today. After the day’s breakaway was caught on the streets of Vordingborg, Young’s teammates moved him to the front during the hectic and high-speed finale. Young’s seventh-place finish gave the team their third top ten of the week at the UCI 2.HC ranked stage race. Robin Carpenter maintained his third place in the overall, just 10 seconds behind three-time defending World Cyclocross Champion Wout Van Aert.

Thanks to consistent placings thus far, Colin Joyce moved into tenth overall at twenty-one seconds back and on equal time with Adam de Vos who currently sits in fifteenth place.

“It was fast and chaotic,” said Young. “I had some good legs there at the end, but I just waited too late. I’m happy to be in the sprint in a European .HC race but looking back, I think I definitely could have been on the podium. We only get so many chances at a race like this, so it’s disappointing!”

The 178 km stage began in Naestved and headed southeast to the famous white cliffs of Mons Klint before turning west and hitting the finishing circuits around Vordingborg. The race went according to plan as the team defended their lead in the Team Classification and avoided any major splits in the peloton during the stage.

“The plan today was for Robin Carpenter and Adam de Vos to save their legs for the time trial and to do a good leadout for me or Colin Joyce,” said Young. “It was a good effort to finish in the top ten, and hopefully we’ll improve in Sunday’s sprinter-friendly finale.”

Robin Carpenter will look to improve upon his third place in the overall during Saturday’s stage four time trial in Nykøbing Falster. It won’t be a day off for our sprinters, however, as the entire team will fight to hold onto their lead in the Team Classification.

Tour of Denmark Stage 3 Results
1 MERLIER Tim Vérandas Willems-Crelan
2 MINALI Riccardo Astana Pro Team
3 GUARDINI Andrea Bardiani – CSF
4 RAIM Mihkel Israel Cycling Academy
5 LARSEN Niklas Team Waoo
6 MENTEN Milan Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise
7 YOUNG Eric Rally Cycling
8 KANTER Max Team Sunweb
9 MURPHY John Holowesko – Citadel
10 HOULE Hugo Astana Pro Team

General Classification after Stage 3
1 VAN AERT Wout Vérandas Willems-Crelan 13:28:02
2 KAMP Alexander Team Waoo 0:06
3 CARPENTER Robin Rally Cycling 0:10
4 HANSEN Lasse Norman Aqua Blue Sport 0:11
5 JOHANSEN Julius ColoQuick 0:16
6 MENTEN Milan Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise 0:21
7 MEURISSE Xandro Wanty – Groupe Gobert ,,
8 HOULE Hugo Astana Pro Team ,,
9 LISSON Christoffer BHS – Almeborg-Bornholm ,,
10 JOYCE Colin Rally Cycling ,,

Team Classification after Stage 3
1 Rally Cycling 40:25:02
2 Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise 0:07
3 Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij 0:14
4 BHS – Almeborg-Bornholm 0:20
5 Israel Cycling Academy 0:27
6 Team Waoo 0:30
7 Astana Pro Team 0:48
8 Vital Concept Cycling Club 1:40
9 Bardiani – CSF 2:30
10 Team Sunweb 3:13