6 years ago by Sam Wiebe

Matteo Dal-Cin Wins Canadian Road Race Title

Rally Cycling Doubles Up at Canadian Road Nationals, Emma White Wins Her Second U-23 Title in Tennessee

Matteo Dal-Cin stormed through the streets of his hometown of Ottawa, Ontario, to win the Canadian National Road Race title and claim his first maple leaf jersey. Dal-Cin’s victory comes a day after Rally Cycling’s Allison Beveridge claimed the women’s title. Pierrick Naud followed his teammate across the line in sixth to give Rally Cycling two riders in the top ten. Emma White added to the team’s haul of national titles by winning the U-23 road race, a day after taking the U-23 time trial crown.

Matteo Dal-Cin on the podium in the maple leaf jersey of National Champion

“This year I decided not to be so zealous, try not to force anything, follow some wheels and get up the road to play my part in the team’s plan,” said Dal-Cin. “The team did a good job of covering moves all day and was well represented in every break that went up the road. In the finale, I wasn’t super confident in my sprint, but I have been working on it for the past year, and it paid off. It was incredible to return the team’s hard work with a win.”

The men of Rally Cycling took to the streets of Ottawa, looking to match the thrilling performance of the women’s squad yesterday. Rob Britton, Matteo Dal-Cin, Adam de Vos, and Pierrick Naud proved up to the challenge against stacked rosters from Silber Pro Cycling, Garneau-Quebecor and WorldTour strongman Svein Tuft. The team was aggressive throughout the 160-kilometer race, forcing splits and reducing the field to a select few. As rain and lightning rolled in for the final kilometers, it was Dal-Cin who broke clear on the final lap with Marc-Antoine Soucy (Garneau-Quebecor). The duo outlasted the chasing group by just six seconds with Dal-Cin powering to an emphatic victory.

Emma White in her second U-23 stripes and stripes jersey

Back in the States, Emma White had another impressive day at the USA Cycling Professional Road Race Championships. White made the elite selection on the final lap, and as the only U-23 rider in the group, locked up her second national title in two days. Not satisfied with the U-23 title, White was aggressive as she took aim at the overall win. However, World Time Trial Champion and Elite National Time Trial Champion, Amber Neben (Team Velo Concept) escaped in the closing kilometers to win solo. White would cross the line fifth on the day, but once again held the top spot on the U-23 podium.

“Before the start of the race, my goals were set a bit higher than winning the U-23 title,” said White. “However, this is my first U-23 national championships so take to both the road and time trial is a great feeling. I'm proud of all the work that the team has done to get me here. The last couple of weeks have been incredible.”

Colin Joyce continued his stellar season with a strong fifth place

In the men's road race, Rally Cycling put in a determined effort to keep the race together for recent North Star Grand Prix winner Colin Joyce and fastman Eric Young. Three riders managed to escape the diminished field with two laps of the circuit remaining led by recent Tour de Suisse stage winner Larry Warbasse (Aqua Blue Sport). The trio worked well together and the chase led by Rally Cycling, BMC, Cannondale-Drapac and Holowesko-Citadel came up just short. Joyce sprinted to the line in fifth with Young coming home ninth.

Canadian Road Nationals continue on Tuesday with the men’s and women’s time trials. Dal-Cin, Britton, Kirsti Lay and Allison Beveridge are all considered favorites.

Canadian Road Race Nationals | Men
1. Matteo Dal-Cin (Rally Cycling)
2. Marc-Antoine Soucy (Garneau Quebecor)
3. Pier-Andre Cote* (Silber Pro Cycling)
4. Guillaume Boivin (Israel Cycling Academy)
5. Conor O’Brien (H&R Block)
6. Pierrick Naud (Rally Cycling)
7. Thierry Kirouac Marcassa (Equipe du Quebec)
8. Olivier Brisebois (Garneau Quebecor)
9. Jean-Simon D’Anjou (Garneau Quebecor)
10. Emile Jean (Silber Pro Cycling)

USA Cycling Professional Road Race Nationals | Women
1. Amber Neben (Team Velo Concept)
2. Coryn Rivera (Sunweb)
3. Ruth Winder (Unitedhealthcare)
4. Alexis Ryan (Canyon Sram Racing)
5. Emma White (Rally Cycling)
6. Lauren Stephens (Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
7. Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team)
8. Leah Thomas (Sho-Air Twenty20)
9. Emily Newsom (Team Elevate Racing)
10. Brianna Walle (Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)

USA Cycling Professional Road Race Nationals | Men
1. Lawrence Warbasse (Aqua Blue Sport)
2. Neilson Powless (Axeon Hagens Berman)
3. Alexey Vermeulen (Team LottoNl-Jumbo)
4. Robin Carpenter (Holowesko-Citadel)
5. Colin Joyce (Rally Cycling)
6. Brent Bookwalter (BMC)
7. Alex Howes (Cannondale-Drapac)
8. Kiel Reijnen (Trek-Segafredo)
9. Eric Young (USA) Rally Cycling)
10. Joey Rosskopf (BMC)