6 years ago by Tom Soladay

Joyce wins Winston-Salem criterium, Allar finishes third


Rally Cycling’s Colin Joyce sprinted to victory in the Winston-Salem Cycling Classic criterium on Saturday. The Idaho native won the field sprint shortly after the days breakaway containing his teammate and defending champion Ty Magner was brought back with a few laps remaining.

“It feels good to take the win,” said Joyce. “I’m battling a cold and wasn’t feeling so great at the start but having a climb on course suited me and I had the legs to finish it off for the team.”

In the women’s race, the RallyCats setup reigning US Pro criterium champion, Erica Allar, for her second podium finish in as many years.

“I’m happy to finish on the podium for the second year in a row,” said Allar. “It’s a bit more special this year since I’m wearing the stars and stripes.”

On Monday, May 28th, both squads will take part in the UCI sanctioned WSCC road race. The urban 8.5-mile circuit around Winston-Salem attracts the top cycling teams from across The Americas and will be a battle royale for the top step of the podium.

US Pro crit champ Erica Allar in action.

Winston-Salem Cycling Classic men’s criterium results
1 Colin Joyce (Rally Cycling) 0:25:35  

2 Pier-Andre Cote (Silber Pro Cycling)
3 Sam Bassetti (Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling)
4 Jose Alfredo Rodriguez Victoria (Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling)
5 Diego Milan Jimenez (Team Inteja-DCT)
6 Eric Young (Rally Cycling)  
7 David Gabburo (Amore & Vita – Prodir)
8 Fabian Lienhard (Holowesko|Citadel | Arapahoe)
9 Noah Granigan (CCB Foundation – Sicleri)
10 Connor Sallee (Cyclus Sports Starlight Factory Team)

Winston-Salem Cycling Classic women’s criterium results
1 Samantha Schneider (ISCorp Pro Cycling Team) 0:59:52
2 Arlenis Sierra (Astana Women’s Team)
3 Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)
4 Lauretta Hanson (UnitedHealthcare)
5 Tina Pic (Colavita/Bialetti Pro Cycling Team)
6 Laura Jorgensen (Feed Hungry Kids Project)
7 Christina Gokey Smith (Colavita/Bialetti Pro Cycling Team)
8 Starla Teddergreen (Hagens Berman | Supermint)
9 Flavia Oliveria (Fearless Femme Racing)
10 Alison Jackson (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)