5 years ago by Tom Soladay

Jastrab wins stage two of Redlands Bicycle Classic

17-year-old takes second win of season

It only took two stages for the women of Rally UHC Cycling to stamp their authority on this year’s Redlands Bicycle Classic. The team delivered Megan Jastrab to an uphill sprint victory on stage two for Jastrab’s second win of the season. Teammate Krista Doebel-Hickok crossed the line in fourth.

“This win was incredibly emotional for me and the team,” said Jastrab. “We were racing knowing that Kelly was with us and we wanted to show it.”

Riders completed 14 laps of the Highland Circuit on stage two for a total of 66 km. The team placed Gillian Ellsay and Abby Mickey in the day’s main breakaway that was reeled in with less than 10 km remaining.

“Abby and Gillian took the pressure off the team today and the rest of the ladies controlled the late attacks,” said Jastrab. “The team trusted me to finish it off and I’m incredibly thankful for all their help.”

At the end of each circuit, the peloton faced the steep climb up Baseline St. Having won a similar finish at the Valley of the Sun earlier this season, Jastrab maintained her composure.

“The finishing climb is a drag and I knew I needed to be patient,” said Jastrab. “I worked my way up from around 13th at the base of the climb to fifth before the first person started sprinting. I followed immediately and jumped again to take the win.”

Friday’s queen stage visits the San Bernardino Mountains, finishing with the 8.7 km ascent of Oak Glen Rd. Expect this stage to turn the race for the overall classification on its head and for Sara Poidevin and Krista Doebel-Hickok to feature heavily in the finale.


Stage 2 results

1 JASTRAB, Megan Rally UHC Cycling 1:44:35 0:10 0:00
2 GANZAR, Leighann Hagens Berman / Supermint 1:44:36 0:06 @ 0:01
3 STEPHENS, Lauren Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley ” 0:04 ”
4 DOEBEL-HICKOK, Krist Rally UHC Cycling 1:44:38 @ 0:03
5 DUEHRING, Jasmine Sho – Air TWENTY20 ” ”
6 GRANT, Emma Sho – Air TWENTY20 ” ”
7 COBB, Alice Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley ” ”
8 ALBRECHT, Lex Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley 1:44:40 @ 0:05
9 GOLDMAN, Lindsay Hagens Berman / Supermint ” ”
10 NEWSOM, Emily Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley ” ”

General Classification after stage 2
1 NEBEN, Amber USA Trek Red Truck Racing p/b Mosa 2:02:08 00:00
2 STEPHENS, Lauren USA Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Ba 2:02:24 @ 00:16
3 NEWSOM, Emily USA Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Ba 2:02:44 @ 00:36
4 BOILARD, Simone CAN Sho – Air TWENTY20 2:03:00 @ 00:52
5 DUEHRING, Jasmine CAN Sho – Air TWENTY20 2:03:08 @ 01:00
6 GOLDMAN, Lindsay USA Hagens Berman / Supermint 2:03:09 @ 01:01
7 GANZAR, Leighann USA Hagens Berman / Supermint 2:03:22 @ 01:14
8 VALENTE, Jennifer USA Sho – Air TWENTY20 ” ”
9 MALSEED, Shannon AUS Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Ba 2:03:25 @ 01:17
10 JASTRAB, Megan USA Rally UHC Cycling 2:03:27 @ 01:19
11 DOEBEL-HICKOK, Krista USA Rally UHC Cycling 2:03:41 @ 01:33
12 LANGDON, Rachel GBR Amy D Foundation 2:03:42 @ 01:34