6 years ago by Sam Wiebe

Hat-Trick for Kirsti Lay in British Columbia

Team Wins Six Events at BC Superweek, Takes Momentum South to Cascade Cycling Classic

On Sunday, Kirsti Lay captured the team's sixth BC Superweek victory with a solo move to win the Tour de White Rock Road Race. The win marked a BC Superweek hat trick for Lay, after winning the New West Grand Prix and MK Delta Lands Criterium. Eric Young matched Lay’s feat in the MK Delta Lands Criterium in addition to winning the historicGastown Criterium. Allison Beveridge added to the team’s win tally with victory in the Giro di Burnaby. Rally Cycling landed an additional five Superweek podiums for an incredibly successful week in British Columbia. The team will look to continue its win streak south of the border at the Cascade Cycling Classic in Bend, Oregon, July 19 - 23.

Kirsti Lay on the top step of the podium for the third time at BC Superweek

Lay took victory in the Tour de White Rock with a powerful solo move on the final lap. The protagonist of the day was Margot Clyne (UBC Cycling Team) who went up the road early. Late in the race, Lay and Joelle Numainville broke free of the peloton and reeled her in. As soon as the duo had Clyne in sight, Lay attacked and powered away to win alone by 40 seconds. Clyne would hold on for second with Numainville in third.

“Superweek has been incredible for the team,” said Lay. “Everyone has bought into the team goals, and you can see the effects it has on the way we race. Going into Cascade this week we want to race aggressively and take what we have learned from the past racing block to contend for a top general classification placing. We are bringing a mix of sprinters and climbers which are perfect for Cascade. We will have lots of cards to play which will make the race exciting!”

Erica Allar will debut her stars and stripes jersey at the Cascade Cycling Classic

In Bend, the women of Rally Cycling will line up in support of Lay and newly crowned Canadian Road Race Champion Beveridge. Caitlin Laroche joins the Canadian duo as one to watch when the road tilts skyward. American National Criterium Champion Erica Allar will debut her new stars and stripes jersey, adding additional prestige to the team’s lineup. Sara Bergen, fresh off three podiums at Superweek, is another designated sprinter alongside Allar. Amy Benner and Katherine Maine will seek stage win opportunities and support Lay and Beveridge’s general classification efforts. The team welcomes guest rider Heidi Franz out of Seattle, Washington. 22-year-old Franz is one of the most promising riders in the Pacific Northwest, having racked up nine wins in the last year.

Evan Huffman will the lead the men of Rally Cycling in Bend

Headlining the Rally Cycling men’s squad will be Evan Huffman and Emerson Oronte. Huffman is in the middle of an incredible season that includes two stage wins at the Amgen Tour of California and the overall at the Tour of Gila. Oronte grabbed stage two of the Chico Stage Race, second at the Fort McClellan Road Race and third overall at the Redlands Bicycle Classic earlier this year. All-arounder Jesse Anthony and sprinters Brad Huff, Shane Kline and Pierrick Naud will join them in Bend. Guiding the trio of fast men to the line is lead-out specialist Tom Soladay.

The 38th edition of the Cascade Cycling Classic kicks off with the McKenzie Pass Road Race. The tough course ends with a 2000 ft ascent to the Dee Wright Observatory atop McKenzie Pass and should open up gaps in the general classification. Time gained on stage one could be lost on stage two’s punishing 14.3-mile time trial. The third stage, the Cascade Lakes Road Race, is a tough course with a rolling terrain that rarely sees the peloton finish intact. Stage four is a late evening criterium held in the heart of downtown Bend. The race concludes on Sunday with the Awbrey Butte Circuit Race. Another tough stage, it features several hilly loops with a steep 9.2% kick to the line.

Emerson Oronte will look to take his first overall stage race victory of the year

"Cascade is one of my favorite races of the year and Bend is my favorite town to visit,” said Oronte. “It's a hard event with great courses, but has a relaxed atmosphere and is excellent preparation for Utah, Colorado and Alberta. In the past few weeks, I've been training hard in preparation for Utah, so I'm not coming into Cascade super fresh, but the motivation is very high! Last year the team had a great showing but sadly lost the race in the final 10 kilometers. This year we have the roster to take the overall with either Huffman, Anthony or me.”

BC Superweek Results
MK Delta Lands Criterium | Men
1. Eric Young (Rally Cycling
2. John Murphy (Holowesko|Citadel)
3. Florenz Knauer (Stradalli-Safatti)

MK Delta Lands Criterium | Women
1. Kirsti Lay (Rally Cycling
2. Allison Beveridge (Rally Cycling)
3. Elizabeth Williams (Hagens (Berman | Supermint)

New West Grand Prix | Women
1. Kirsti Lay (Rally Cycling)
2. Sara Bergen (Rally Cycling)
3. Stephanie Roorda (Sho-Air TWENTY20)

Gastown Grand Prix | Men
1. Eric Young (Rally Cycling)
2. Scott Law (Cylance Cycling Team)
3. Tyler Magner (Holowesko | Citadel)

Gastown Grand Prix | Women
1. Kendall Ryan (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
2. Sara Bergen (Rally Cycling)
3. Allison Beveridge (Rally Cycling)

Giro di Burnaby | Women
1. Allison Beveridge (Rally Cycling)
2. Leah Kirchmann (Team Sunweb)
3. Josie Talbot (ISCorp p/b Progress)

Tour de White Rock Road Race | Women
1. Kirsti Lay (Rally Cycling)
2. Margot Clyne (UBC Cycling Team)
3. Joelle Numainville

Cascade Classic Stages
Stage 1 – McKenzie Pass Road Race (M: 108.1 miles / W: 89.3 miles)
Stage 2 – Skyliners Time Trial (14.3 miles)
Stage 3 – Cascade Lakes Road Race (M: 108 miles / W: 87.8 miles)
Stage 4 – Twilight Downtown Criterium (M: 75 minutes / W: 50 minutes)
Stage 5 – Awbrey Butte Circuit Race (M: 82 miles / W: 49 miles)

Cascade Classic | Men
Jesse Anthony
Brad Huff
Evan Huffman
Shane Kline
Emerson Oronte
Pierrick Naud
Tom Soladay
Curtis White

Cascade Classic | Women
Erica Allar
Amy Benner
Allison Beveridge
Sara Bergen
Kirsti Lay
Katherine Maine
Sara Poidevin
Heidi Franz (guest)