5 years ago by Tom Soladay

Bergen wins New West Grand Prix

Successful debut for Canadian Criterium Champion

Rally Cycling’s Sara Bergen won the New West Grand Prix last night in front of a hometown crowd. The newly-crowned Canadian Criterium Champion from Vancouver, BC defended teammate Kirsti Lay’s title from a year ago by outsprinting two breakaway companions at the end of the one-hour criterium. In the men’s race, Eric Young and Brad Huff sprinted to second and third place.

“Amazing,” said Bergen. “Winning in the maple leaf jersey in front of the Canadian fans was fantastic. Kirsti Lay was up the road early so I bridged across to her and attacked off of the group.”

Bergen celebrating.

The short one-kilometer course featured a steep climb at the start of each lap before a screaming descent into the final two corners. The racers wound through the tight corridors of downtown New Westminster as the sun set on British Columbia.

“I attacked the final breakaway going into the last kick of the hill before the quick downhill corners,” said Bergen. “I was confident I could rail the corners like no one’s business. I got away and finished solo.”

Young and Huff enjoying the show.

Later in the evening, Eric Young and Brad Huff each finished on the podium for a third-straight BC Superweek criterium in a row. Tonight, both teams will race the historic Global Relay Gastown Grand Prix where Young seeks to become the second male rider since 1983 to win the event on three occasions.

New West Grand Prix Women’s Results
1 BERGEN Sara Rally Cycling Vancouver BC 0:58:29.80
2 MALSEED Shannon Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank Mount Clear AUS 0:58:31.60
3 GILL Haley Rise Racing Vancouver BC 0:58:32.60
4 JACKSON Alison Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank Vermilion Canada 0:59:41.00
5 LAY Kirsti Rally Cycling Calgary AB “
6 LEMIEUX Raphaele LA Sweat Montreal QC ”
7 OWEN Harriet Hagens Berman | Supermint Oxford GBR 0:59:45.60
8 COLES LYSTER Maggie Macogep-Argon18 Maple Ridge BC 0:59:46.60
9 WILLIAMS Lily Hagens Berman | Supermint Tallahassee FL ”
10 RACHETTO Liza Hagens Berman | Supermint Boise ID ”

New West Grand Prix Men’s Results
1 KNAUER Florenz Herrmann Radteam Lisberg 1:11:50.40
2 YOUNG Eric Rally Cycling Boulder CO 1:11:51.60
3 HUFF Bradley Rally Cycling Cortez CO “
4 JEAN Emile Silber Pro Cycling Trois-Rivieres QC ”
5 KETLER Mitchell Applewood Garneau p/b Smart Savvy Winnipeg MB ”
6 LEWIS Joseph Holowesko|Citadel Cycling Team Gloucester AUS ”
7 HATZ Christopher Herrmann Radteam Dienheim ”
8 BURTNIK Evan Team RaceClean Edmonton AB ”
9 BOARDMAN Sam Marc Pro Cycling p/b Gym One Los Angeles CA ”
10 FISHER Steve Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis Bellingham WA “